To mark the passing of the legendary Percy Sledge…

I can’t begin to describe the feelings I get when I hear ‘When A Man Loves A Woman’. It is one of the first pop songs I ever heard at about the age of four. We had an old compilation tape that I think my mother got by saving up the back of cereal packets (in those days we had no money for cassettes by any other means), and the song was played over and over and over again. It’s such a part of my memories of being a child, and is one of the things in this world where when I experience it, I can feel a glimmer of how I felt at that moment in my life as a child. It transports me to and connects me to childhood me. That’s one hell of a gift, isn’t it?

Percy, thank you. May you now dwell forever in the place you were hoping for. Rest in peace.

http://www.theguardian.com/music/2015/apr/14/soul-singer-percy-sledge-dies-aged-73

Leave a Reply

