Dear Karolina…

Dear Karolina,

On the eve of your wedding day and in the absence of making a speech at the reception, there are a few things you need to know. I want you to know that I love you. I’ve loved you since the day I met you, and I’m honoured that nearly ten years later you’re still in my life.

Your strength, your energy, your fearlessness in going for what you want, inspires me. Your mind, how smart you are, humbles me. That you can look at me, hear me speak, unpick the weirdness of my mind and laugh with me, nourishes me. Your family, your son and the man who has the privilege of spending the rest of his days with you, like me, are the luckiest people in the universe to have you in their lives. There is nothing I wouldn’t do for you, and there is nothing you could ever do that would change that.

Karolina, my love, I can’t wait to see you, and to celebrate your love and the adventures ahead of you.

I wouldn’t be doing my job as a brother-from-another-mother though, if I didn’t give you some advice for your wedding day, even though I’m sure you’ve had about as much advice from everybody as you can take! BUT, know NOW that none of it is as important as your marriage itself, and the work you’ll do day-to-day as a partner. Know NOW that it doesn’t matter if things don’t happen on time, it doesn’t matter if something  doesn’t go according to plan. Nobody will care or even remember. The only thing that matters is that you enjoy each moment of your day. Decide RIGHT NOW that if anything needs worrying about, anything needs sorting, or if any stress needs to be had, or any organisation needs to be done, you will let somebody else do that for you. That’s what family and friends are for. And above all, make sure that everyone in the front row has spare tissues, because when you start saying those vows, you won’t know what’s hit you!

Karolina, I adore you, and I’ll see you at the Guildhall!

Love, Tris xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Karolina

Leave a Reply

